Research and small stories

October 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

While I wait for some research materials to download and/or ship to me, I’ve started writing out some scenes from my characters backstories to try and firm up their voices and personalities, as well as get into the habit of writing parts of a story every day. Not to say I haven’t been writing before, but it’s more easily done when you’re brainstorming because none of it really matters, whereas once you start writing the actual novel, speaking through the characters, the words flow slower and I have to resist the urge to read and re-read what I’ve written up to this point and make changes.

It’s kind of fun writing these little one-shots. The first one I wrote today was from my main character’s perspective when he was a child, which is quite different from the adult version I will be writing. It’s also letting me get the setting straightened out and is giving me some things to think about as far as logistics that I’m glad I know about now instead of on November 1st.

The research I’m doing will mostly involve watching the show Life After People and looking up information and photos of Pripyat (the ghost town near Chernobyl), which gives a great view of what happens when humans abandon a city and it returns to nature.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Research and small stories at Writing Frenzy.

meta

