Plot sketching

September 30, 2012 § 1 Comment

One day left until the great long month of October, in which I hope to outline the novel I will write in November and hopefully not tire of the concept. The last half of September has been devoted entirely to brainstorming, and I must have come up with a dozen or so different ideas for a story ranging from the cliche to the overly complex. I think I’ve settled somewhere in between, although to be honest I’ve tried to concentrate on character creation and purposely ignore plot until I’ve nailed them down.

I’ve finally done it. I have characters and what they want, their goals and in some cases their sub or secondary goals. I have some pretty good flaws. They are still kind of flat but that makes sense because I haven’t started writing them yet. The character prompts my sister has been giving me will help with that a lot.

I won’t lie, plot has crossed my mind more than once as I wonder how to move these characters around in the world. I don’t want to ignore it either because it’s hard to have a word count if you don’t know where your story is going. I do have rough ideas for the high energy events like the end of the beginning, crisis point, and climax and now I just need to flesh them out and think them through in detail to make sure it’s a good concept. I have a lot of ideas that sound great initially but when I think about them logistically, they break down.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Plot sketching

  • ericjbaker says:

    Most writers I know (including me) think plotting is the most frustrating or intimidating aspect of fiction. I believe my plotting improved when I stopped thinking about it and gave up on outlining. I figure that the story will tell me where it wants to go.

    Good luck with your project.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Plot sketching at Writing Frenzy.

meta

