Fighting forgetfulness, my new nemesis

September 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

I hate forgetting things, it’s the worst. And when it involves parts of my story, I get even more frustrated because I feel I’ve just knocked over the continuity cart and lost all the apples. Previously hot summer weather gives way to winter freezes without warning. A tasteful olive shag carpet turns into a stained red rug. Stupid little stuff that nonetheless seems to glare at me upon re-reading and leaves me wondering what the hell I was thinking.

I should keep notes but I feel myself getting bogged down in trying to remember things that don’t matter. I don’t want to write everything down but I need some basics. They are not names, places or hair colors that get lost in whatever crawlspace my brain keeps things it deems unimportant, but rather the pictures hanging on the walls, childhood memories, room or landscape descriptions. Hell, I even forget what descriptive words I use until I look back and realize I’ve used the word “bleak” five times and it’s time to visit the thesaurus and find a new word.

Old age is going to be hell on me, I can tell. I try to look on the positive side, that this is just a first draft and maybe the stuff I make up when I forget will be better than the originals and isn’t that what editing is for, anyway?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fighting forgetfulness, my new nemesis at Writing Frenzy.

meta

