Music for the End of the World

September 24, 2012 § Leave a comment

I go through phases with music. Sometimes I can’t stand to have even the slightest sound distracting me from what I’m doing, whether it is writing or working. Lately, however I enjoy listening to a playlist I made specifically for this story I’m working on.

I call it “music for the end of the world” although listening to parts of it I can see how one could make an argument for calling it “music for committing suicide” (Please don’t). My intention was to create a very dispiriting mood without hope to mirror the feeling I imagine one would have upon waking up to discover their world is gone.

I’ve included parts of lyrics that particularly struck me while listening, but for many of the songs, the words don’t matter, it’s the music and the mood it creates.

Clair de lune – Claude Debussy

The Times They are A-Changin’ – Bob Dylan

The order is rapidly fadin’
And the first one now will later be last
For the times they are a-changin’.

The Sound of Silence – Simon and Garfunkel

And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

Only Remembered – War Horse

Who’ll sing the anthem and who’ll tell the story
Will the line hold will it scatter and run
Shall we at last be united in glory
Only remembered for what we have done

Abraham’s Daughter – Arcade Fire

Boulevard of Broken Dreams – Green Day

I walk a lonely road
The only one that I have ever known
Don’t know where it goes
But it’s home to me and I walk alone

Here Without You – 3 Doors Down

Wise Men – James Blunt

But they couldn’t escape from you,
Couldn’t be free of you,
And now they know there’s no way out

Beautiful Lie – 30 Seconds to Mars

It’s time to forget about the past
To wash away what happened last
Hide behind an empty face

Adieu mon Coeur – Edith Piaf

Adieu mon cœur                     Good-bye my heart
On te jette au malheur.        We are casting you into unhappiness.
Tu n’auras pas mes yeux     You will not have my eyes
Au mourir                                 Until death

The Breach – Sunspot

The frailty that tore,
Still led us once more unto the breach.

Save Tonight – Eagle-Eye Cherry

Mad World – Gary Jules

No tomorrow, no tomorrow

(Don’t Fear) The Reaper – Blue Oyster Cult

Barely Breathing – Duncan Sheik

Bent – Matchbox 20

Crying Out – Shinedown

45 – Shinedown

Send away for a perfect world
One not simply, so absurd

Elegia – New Order

Dust – Royworld

All that will remain of us,
Are a thousand voices floating in the atmosphere,
Shadows falling in the dust,
And I hear your voice singled out and I want to say,
You and I will never die,
So don’t think about all the space in-between us,

Black Hole Sun – Soundgarden

2815 AD – WALL-E soundtrack

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Music for the End of the World at Writing Frenzy.

meta

