Re-reading

September 18, 2012 § 7 Comments

I reluctantly started to re-read my nano novel from…was it 2006? No, 2007, which seems like such a long time ago. I’m surprised; it doesn’t suck nearly as much as I thought it did. It’s not fantastic by any means but definitely entertaining because I largely have forgotten all of the plot twists that were added in. One nice thing about needing a word count is that it forces me to look to other areas besides dialogue and action to fill in description. I’m paranoid about being overly descriptive, and as a result my ability to set a scene is limited because I avoid talking about it. I end up having the opposite problem which is just as obnoxious.

This is a consistent weakness in my work that I’ve noticed ever since I was young and it’s something I really want to work on because reading the description, which I thought was superfluous while writing, strengthens the work. I think about stories like a movie in my head, and I can see the setting  while I’m writing so I don’t think to describe it for others. I also get really carried away with dialogue. I’m sure I could just make a story that was entirely dialogue between characters; in fact I’m pretty sure I’ve done that at some point.

I’v also been reading character sketches my sister and I did over the years. There are a series of questions to answer about a character such as “favorite food” “first memory” and so on. Mine were written answers, not usually direct but through a scene in their lives that was related to it or answered it in some way. My sister’s are actual drawings, she is very talented, and we were laughing at some of the comedic answers we came up with. The characters are from a computer game we play but they have blossomed under our care until they developed minds of their own. I wonder how I could possibly use some of them in the work I hope to make.

§ 7 Responses to Re-reading

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Re-reading at Writing Frenzy.

meta

