First thoughts on Nanowrimo 2008

May 23, 2008 § 7 Comments

I’m going to try and do it again this year. I started re-reading my 2007 novel (which I still haven’t finished, although I know the ending). I really liked my earlier stuff, but I can definitely tell when I started to panic and put in stuff just to fill the empty spaces.

I also learned halfway through the month that vampires are some of the lamest monsters out there. I was annoyed with them even as I wrote them. Plus it’s embarassing when I’m asked what kind of novel I wrote, to have to say “It’s a vampire novel”, and then get those looks. You know the ones.

My 2008 novel will be entirely devoid of vampires, I’m happy to say. What will be in it? That’s a little hazier. My stories are built around the characters that are in them, and hopefully some kind of plot forms around that. I’ve had a couple of ideas bopping around in my head.

The strongest idea so far involves this tagline (it sounds like it came straight from Ellery Queen, but this is my rough beginning sketch).

Emelina/Emalina/Imolina/Imalina (haven’t figured out the spelling of the name yet) as an aging private detective looking to get out of the business with all her limbs intact, although the last case she takes before retirement proves to be anything but simple.

I’ve always been a fan of feisty old ladies, and so why not write one for myself? I can’t bring myself to leave the fantasy/alternate reality/scifi genre yet, so there will be some kind of magic or futuristic stuff involved. Because as a friend said: everything’s better in space!

§ 7 Responses to First thoughts on Nanowrimo 2008

  • agarithia says:

    good luck for NaNoWriMo!
    I’m planning on doing it again this year just because it’s so much fun.
    I agree with what you said about “the looks” sometimes I’d rather just keep my writing adventures to myself to avoid “the looks”

    Usually when I begin a new piece, it starts with a picture of a character. Then I just work off of that and gradually the story comes to life.

    ~LeLoOr

  • karmagrl76 says:

    Haha! Guess what I wrote about last November? Yep, vampires. Vampires and mages and demons. And yes I got “the look” too until I explained what the plot was about. Mostly, they were just amazed that I actually wrote an entire novel.

  • elizaw says:

    Good luck, and congrats– NaNoWriMo nearly killed me last November, and I’m not sure if I’m going to be doing it again.

    As long as you’re thinking about characters… I’m about to lead a ‘Villain Month’ to develop great antagonists, starting June 1st. I’ve already got several writers participating, several more watching. If that interests you, feel free to jump in. :)

  • Linda says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Ha, I wrote about vampires in my NaNo too. Was it something in the blood last year? Okay, I know, bad joke. I’m doing NaNo again this year. I have three ideas rattling around in my head, none involve vampires–so far–but will definitely lean toward the fantasy. Good luck with the villan development.

  • […] many people all over the place, I am starting to consider my run at NaNoWriMo […]

  • farsong says:

    Wow, I googled nanowrimo 2008 and your blog was one of the first things that came up, so congrats! You should get lots of hits!

    This will be my third year doing NaNo (I’m Farsong on there as well), and I believe it is the most fun thing in my life! My 2007 NaNo is available to be read on my blog, and it did involve some vampires, although I left it ambiguous as to whether they were real or not. Have you heard of the Vampire Ball in Heidelberg, Germany? My MC attended it.

    This year I plan to do a fairy tale, but… there’s still over a month to go, and my mind does tend to change itself!

    Good luck, maybe I’ll see you in the forums!

  • hi
    ek3kp5jhiilvfuhn
    good luck

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First thoughts on Nanowrimo 2008 at Writing Frenzy.

meta

