First Words

November 1, 2006 § Leave a comment

I woke up in a room that wasn’t mine, but looked strangely familiar. The walls and floors were impossibly bright; it was probably meant to make the area seem larger, but the light boxed everything in, creating a kind of pressure on the room. The only furniture was the chair I was sitting on, although I couldn’t remember sitting down.

A single door cast the only shadow in the room; it was closed. The only sound was a faint hum of air whispering through vents. As I glanced around, I realized my neck felt stiff and sore. I tried to remember how it had gotten that way, but I was getting nothing.

Before I could dwell on this, the click of shoes on tile sounded, a sharp contrast to the white nose that sourrounded me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading First Words at Writing Frenzy.

meta

